When we talk about business skills, how many times have you heard creativity or imagination mentioned? Oh sure, we talk about how someone is skilled with managing their finances, he/she is adept at networking or with having an instinct for timing a market.

Creativity, Imagination and BusinessIt seems obvious that creativity and imagination have a place in our businesses. I wrote a post recently about 11 Ways to Fuel Imagination and we talked about The Necessity of Creativity in 21st Century Business Thinking on #kaizenblog back in June. I guess you could say that I’ve been thinking about both for some time.

But in everyday business conversations, why don’t we talk about it more? Perhaps it seems somehow fluffy or unprofessional to consider oneself as creative or imaginative. Yet, every successful small business owner uses these two traits often.

How did you come up with your business vision? You used your imagination to describe the way you’ll change the world.

How did you come up with the products or services your business offers? Creativity and imagination.

How do you fit your vision, your offerings and your goals into your business plan? You use imagination to forecast how your business will perform.

So why don’t we talk about them more?

*If you’d like to explore the role of creativity and imagination in business, the myths or misconceptions of these traits and what business really thinks of creativity and imagination, join in the Twitter chat, #kaizenblog on Friday, January 7th at 12pm ET/5pm GMT/9am PT.

 

 

Share